No Other Gods – Day 11

I’m hot. I’m tired. I am ready to go home. However, what I have already learned in these 11 days is that we (I) need this time away. We need this time to grow as individuals in the Lord and as a Godly mother and son. We need this!

I am just going to jump into the prayer requests, if it’s okay:

1. Jake: That he places no other god before Him. Namely pride, greed, selfishness and laziness.

2. Jennifer: That I place no other gods before Him. Namely pride, greed, selfishness and laziness.

The Lord has great plans for both Jake and I. Not even here in Guatemala, but in  the bigger picture and I will  no longer be shy about it. Actually, I am claiming them in the Name and Beautiful Blood of Jesus! He has brought me this far, but there is still much farther to go.

Over the past several months, I have learned that my biggest vice is idolatry. Examples: I place my value or the need to be valued above God Himself; I place my child and his comfort above God Himself; I place my own will and desires above God Himself. I have too many gods and in my arrogance and ignorance, I have taught my son to worship those same gods.

Am I being too hard on myself? Probably, but I am tired of living, and in turn teaching my son, a mediocre life, when the God of all creation is only in the business of Excellence!

Leave a Reply

